Kamal new LHC bar President.

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

LAHORE, 23 Feb. 2008:

Anwar Kamal Advocate of the Professional Group of lawyers, led by Hamid Khan, was elected the Lahore High Court Bar Association (LHCBA) president on Saturday.

Also supported by Supreme Court Bar Association President Aitzaz Ahsan, Kamal secured 3,507 votes. His opponent, Pervez Inayat Malik, fielded by PPP Senator Sardar Latif Khosa’s group, got 1,068 votes. Another candidate vying for the same slot, Moazzam Iqbal Gill, got only 20 votes. The Professional Group has already captured different bars of the country including the SCBA, Lahore Bar Association, Karachi Bar Association and Punjab Bar Council. Addressing the bar members, he said the struggle for restoration of judges would reach its logical end. “We would restore the Nov-2 judiciary at any cost,” he said. “They are constitutional judges. We don’t accept the PCO judges.”He said there was a simple way to restore judges. “If the decision of Supreme Court’s seven-member bench, given on Nov 3, is implemented in letter and spirit, everything would go back to its Nov-2 position.”He also made it clear that lawyers did not accept Pervez Musharraf as the president. His fate would be decided once the independent judiciary is reinstated, he added. Rana Asadullah also expressed the same views saying, “he would be part and parcel of legal fraternity’s struggle and would press hard for judges’ restoration.”Mian Muhammad Aslam of Khosa Group won the slot of vice-president by begging 1,575 votes. Babar Khilji stood second by getting 1,003 votes, while Chaudhry Zafar Iqbal got 966, and Mian Jamil Akhtar obtained 989 votes. The slot of bar secretary was won by Rana Asadullah Khan, who begged 1,846 votes. While Zahid Hussain Malik got 946, Sahir Mehmood Bhatti, 714, Mian Irfan Akram, 553 and Wasim Mumtaz Malik obtained 519 votes. Rana Asadullah had the support of PML-N Lawyers’ Forum, PLF Lawyers’ forum, Hafiz Abdul Rehman Ansari’s group. Professional and Khosa groups had also assured him of their silent support. This time again, a lady lawyer, Feroza Rubab, was elected as the finance secretary. She got 1,802 votes. Her opponents Aneela Cheema and Zahid Sikandar got 1,419 and 1,352 votes, respectively. As many as 4,615 out of 9,386 bar members cast their votes for the year 2008-9.
link: http://thenews.jang.com.pk/daily_detail.asp?id=98007

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Previous Article

Long march call not a mere threat: Aitzaz.

Next Article

SCBA puts off Long March.

Related Posts