Deposed judges couldn’t cast vote.

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...
‘Deposed judges couldn’t cast vote’.
Asad Muhammad Khan

ISLAMABAD: Deposed chief justice of Pakistan (CJP) Iftikhar Muhammad Chaudhary and former superior judges Shakirullah Jan and Sardar Raza Khan, who are strictly under-house detention since November 3, weren’t allowed to cast their votes for the general elections on Monday.”I invite all foreign observers, national and international media to come and see that how much wrong is claims of President Pervez Musharraf, federal Information and Interior ministers that the detained judges will be facilitated to poll their votes,” said Advocate Athar Minallah, a renowned lawyer.”Even Chief Election Commissioner Qazi Muhammad Farooq, who is neighbour of the former chief justice, wasn’t allowed to meet him. How come then CEC enables deposed judges to cast their votes,” said the lawyer. Regarding Musharraf’s recent statement against justice Iftikhar, the lawyer said that he smiled after reading the statement and said that such remarks were infact moral victory of the nation.Athar quoted the former CJP as saying that replying to Musharraf would be against judicial norms as he was still the chief justice. “We will file contempt of court notice against president after judiciary reinstated,” he said. “We don’t recognize Musharraf as president and so the current set-up, we still will like to vote democratic parties, said Athar, who was holding the press conference out of the Judges Enclave.On the occasion, lawyers and the civil society members held a procession, under the leadership of Advocate Sardar Asmatullah outside the Judges Enclave, chanting slogans for restoration and release of judiciary and against the president.

23 parties boycotted polls
The Post Report

ISLAMABAD: Around 23 political parties boycotted the general elections while 47 parties participated in it. According to details, the parties which took part in the elections included PPPP, PML-Q, ANP, JUI (F) and MQM whereas the parities affiliated with All Parties Democratic Movement did not participate in the elections. These included Jamaat-e-Islami, Tahreek-e-Insaaf, Pakhtoon Khuwa Milli Awami Party, PONAM, Awami Tahreek. Jamiat-e-Ulema-e-Pakistan (Noorani) also decided to boycott the elections at the last moment.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Previous Article

NWFP lawyers observe ‘black day’.

Next Article

Response below my dignity.

Related Posts