Pro-Iftikhar candidates win RDBA election. - Chief Justice Blog - Pakistan's 1st Law Blog


Post Top Ad

Post Top Ad

Thursday, January 15, 2009

Pro-Iftikhar candidates win RDBA election.

RAWALPINDI: Taufiq Asif was elected new president of Rawalpindi District Bar Association (RDBA) on Wednesday, securing 730 votes against his opponent Malik Wahid Anjum’s 511.

In his election campaign, Asif vowed that he would continue struggle for restoration of all deposed judges including sacked chief justice Iftikhar Muhammad Chaudhary.

Ahsan Mehmood Satti became vice-president by getting 849 votes while his rival Arif Shah got 397 votes. Chaudhary Mohammad Asif was elected general secretary, clinching 526 votes, while his opponents Shahid Mehmood Langryal and Sardar Bilal Qayyum got 438 and 300 votes respectively.

Zahida Ayyaz was elected joint secretary, obtaining 671 votes while her rival Zafar Alam Chaudhary got 587 votes.

Out of total 1,650 votes, 1,283 were polled. Chaudhary Sultan Mansoor was chairman of the Election Commission and Syed Tanvir Sohail Shah and Shaukat Rauf Siddiqui were its members.

Punjab Bar Council sent Iqbal Moaqal and Amir Jamil Siddiqui as observers. Sajjid Tanoli, the outgoing RDBA general secretary, congratulated the winners.

As the election results were announced, the hall was echoing with slogans ‘Iftikhar, we are your soldiers’, ‘all judges would be reinstated’ and ‘struggle for restoration of deposed judges will continue’.

The winners said the election would give boast the lawyers’ movement. Taufiq Asif said that his election was defeat of the establishment and demanded that the government restore all sacked judges. staff report


No comments:

Post a Comment

Post Top Ad